Modern Day Obsession: Hindsight

I’ve recently gotten really into Hindsight on Vh1. It’s like a romcom + best friends + time travel. So like a really really great chicklit book that you can watch weekly. Also, the first episode is free on itunes if you want to test the waters. The best part (about the time travel) is that you get to chill in the 90’s without being like “AH THIS IS A THING FROM THE 90’s!” It’s sort of like Back to the Future in that regard. But honestly it’s probably mostly like Peggy Sue Got Married because it’s all about this woman who regrets her first marriage and passes out and wakes up in her own body but like 20 years prior. So yeah, I think this has been a really solid and coherent review. I hope you think so too.

On another note, I’ve clearly been using this blog to relive my childhood and in that sense it’s become a bit of a 90’s nostalgia blog. But in the 90’s I was obsessed with the 70’s. (You could in part blame Now & Then for this) but I believe the ultimate culprit is the vast amount of time I spent watching reruns as a child. And really, 1970’s television is the very special zygote that grew into the very special fetus of 80’s television until Blossom finally gave birth to the very special baby that would make us hate very special episodes forever. That was a really gross analogy that I tried to re-write thrice but no that’s just how my brain sees it, sorry. Anyway, this February I’d like to pay homage to some of my formative television experiences. Get ready for Happy Days, The Partridge Family, The Brady Bunch, and the first season of Diff’rent Strokes (also know as the Mrs. Garrett years.)

Leave a Reply

